Why choose Louisiana
for Higher Education?

The benefits of a Louisiana higher education degree are endless! Whether choosing an Associate’s degree at one of our Community and Technical Colleges, a Bachelors, Masters, or Ph.D. at one of our four-year institutions, or even a professional degree at one of our medical or law schools your educational experience at any Louisiana public institution is guaranteed to positively impact your future. Read More >>

In January 2011, Darren Mire became the Director of Valuation for the newly formed Orleans Parish Assessor’s Office, where he supervises the mass appraisal of over 168,000 parcels in the City of New Orleans.  Previously he served 8 ½ years as the elected Assessor of the First Municipal District of Orleans Parish where his constituency consisted of the state’s wealthiest taxing district before the consolidation of the parish’s seven tax assessment districts.  As a native and life-long resident of New Orleans, he graduated from Jesuit High School; Tulane University, where he earned his B.A. in Political Economy; and the Graduate School of Political Management, where he earned a Masters in Professional Studies in Political Management.

Darren provides property tax instruction through several area homebuyer training programs.  Darren is a Certified Louisiana Deputy Assessor and has completed coursework in Real Estate Sales and Appraisal at the Uptown Professional Real Estate School, is a licensed real estate agent and is a member of the International Association of Assessing Officers.

In addition to his public endeavors, Darren most recently served 8 years as a member of the Southern University Board of Supervisors where he served as Chairman of the Board from 2011-2012.  Darren currently serves as Chairman of the Board for the Dryades YMCA and is an active member of Zulu Social Aid and Pleasure Club and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Mr. Mire was appointed by Governor John Bel Edwards in January 2017 as a member of the Board of Regents.  He serves as a representative of the 2nd Congressional District, and his term of service ends December 31, 2018.